top of page
Search
  • butkolorissa

Flashy Folding

Paper is a wonderful material that has so many uses. One of the many uses for paper is creating books. Creating books is a process that has been occurring for many years and there are many different techniques used for conjoining the paper in a fashion in which a book is produced.

I ventured on a paper fold journey where I created my own small book which consisted of 16 pages. In order to do this I viewed an article which displayed and described how the paper should be folded and cut to form this booklet. I am very much a visual learner so the reference I referred to the most was this image which was included in the article.




This folding technique that I followed is called a print signature. The first thing I did was fold my paper in half and then folded four times in the opposite direction. This created 16 boxes which would each end up creating two pages. I then cut the center of the paper, but only in between the four centermost boxes. Next, I folded the paper in half and cut the edges of the pages that were still folded together. To stabilize the spine of my book, I snipped two holes in it and tied string through them to secure the spine. This left me with my 16 page book.

I found this process to be very interesting. I am very much a crafty person and enjoy doing activities such as this. In the past, I have created books and booklets similar to this for a variety of projects. It was interesting to see all the different types of folding techniques that there are that can be used to create books. Throughout the years we have came so far in our technological advances that we sometimes lose site of simple things such as folding paper. This can be a very valuable skill used to create and produce a physical product that can be shared with others. I have included below a few images of what my creation ended up looking like.






.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page