top of page
Search
  • butkolorissa

The Wonderful World of Wiki Pages


Wiki. What does is it mean? A wiki can be a website, or a page that provides information in a unique format which allows things to be added or edited by multiple collaborators. In my English class that I am currently taking. My class has been experimenting with concept of wiki pages. Everyone created their own wiki page with the topics focusing on different types of writing machines. In the spirit of wiki, we went to each other's pages and added links or others pages or our own pages that added relevance or contributed to what the original author discusses. During this process, I kept track of this process and my linking and have documented at the end of this post.

The article "What Are Wikis, and Why Should You Use Them?" expands on the benefits that wikis provide, and how they can enhance information. The author, Zach LaBar, provides insight on some popular wiki pages such as Wikipedia and Wikileaks and provides details on how sources with a wiki basis provide quick and meaningful information. This article was very interesting and offers some unique insight on the concept of wiki pages. I recommend checking it out if this concept interests you!

I want to share a little more with all of you my experience with creating wiki pages with my classmates. The writing technology that my page was about was computers. I explored some of my classmates pages and was able to connect my information to their topics. The first page I visited was one regarding the writing machine of a typewriter. This page went into the benefits of a typewriter and its progression through the years. I inserted a link to my page regarding computers in the area where this particular author discusses the modern comparison of a typewriter being this. I then visited pages regarding email and Ipads, and how these technologies contribute to writing. I linked my page within this page in regards to electronics, as computers are another electronic writing machine. The last page I linked my page with was regarding gmail. This relates heavily to computers as it is where many people access their emails and compose them.

I felt this was an interesting assignment to complete, as most english classes stick to traditional writing styles. It was eyeopening to get to create my own page and see how it grew as the collaboration with others became involved. I really enjoyed going back to my original page that I created and seeing how my classmates linked their pages within information that related to the topic they chose. This process was something that I have never created or experienced before which made it very exciting. It was interesting to see the different connections and references that everyone made and how it came together as one. I was surprised to see how much I enjoyed this form of writing and how informational it can be to the readers viewing it.



Links To Wiki Pages Mentioned...



7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page